You must be logged in to post messages.
Please login or register

Strategy Forum

Hop to:    
loginhomeregisterhelprules
Bottom
Topic Subject: Resource Gathering Blues
posted 07-21-02 10:39 AM EDT (US)   
I'm a newbie having some trouble. I play vs. computer, and last night I cranked out 140 citizens. The three computer players only had about 60 each. Yet in terms of gathering wood, stone, food, iron, gold, I was only about average. I kept the cits micromanaged pretty well. I even had a custom civ with +15% iron & gold mining & 20% villager speed.

What am I doing wrong? I used mostly settlements for gather points. Is upgrading them to capitals or town centers really that critical so that your gather rate is only 30% or 40% of what it could be without the upgrade? Exactly how much does adding citizens to town centers or capitals help your economy? The manual is very vague on this. Please help...

Thanx.

WoundedKnight

Replies:
posted 07-21-02 08:09 PM EDT (US)     1 / 5  
I think the computer cheats, and that is why you aren't economically superior to them.

-I've had capitols with 50 people in them, 6 people working each patch, and STILL could not beat the computers economically.

-I tried conquering another land (was playing on large islands - 3 gold, 3 iron, 2 stone), staffed the capitols and had 6 at each mine. Still no glory.

-Start a random game and have a computer start as an ally. Do nothing but watch your ally. In minutes an entire city is up and running, complete with military buildings. Where'd the wood come from?

-Also, you'll find that even if you have 6 improved granaries with 8 farms each, fully staffed, you'll find that the ally's 2 farms outproduced you (even though the AI seldom hunts on easy mode).

posted 07-22-02 02:19 PM EDT (US)     2 / 5